Expand this Topic clickable element to expand a topic
OSA Publishing

The Optical Society (OSA) publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed articles in its portfolio of journals, which serve the full breadth of the optics and photonics community.

Advances in Optics and Photonics (AOP) publishes comprehensive review articles and multimedia tutorials appropriate for students, researchers, faculty, business professionals and engineers. The all-electronic journal's authoritative content covers advances in optics and photonics from fundamental science to engineering applications. AOP is led by Editor-in-Chief, Dr. Govind Agrawal, who, assisted by the journal's distinguished associate editors, solicits articles and manages peer review.

Designed to capture the most significant advances in optics and photonics, the journal includes:

  • Long review articles and comprehensive tutorials
  • Internal navigational links and external reference linking
  • Multimedia enhancements, such as animation and video
  • Prominent and respected authors at the forefront of their fields
  • Distinguished associate editors and dedicated peer review support
  • High standards of production quality and reliability

AOP also considers Letters to the Editor and Comments on published review articles.

Submission Information

Is my paper appropriate for Advances in Optics and Photonics? Read about all OSA journals here.

Any prospective author can submit a proposal by contacting the editor directly or by sending an email to the editorial staff using the address aopmss@osa.org. The proposal requirements can be found here.

Please see the Author Resource Center for instructions to prepare and submit a manuscript.


Key Journal Metrics

Impact Factor: 13.963 (ranked 3rd out of 95 journals)*
Immediacy Index: 4.533 (ranked 2nd out of 95 journals)*
Article Influence Score: 6.491 (ranked 2nd out of 95 journals)*
5-Year Impact Factor: 20.902 (ranked 2nd out of 95 journals)*
Median Time to Publication: 155 days
*According to Optics category rankings in the 2018 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2019)

For more information on Journal metrics, click here.

Editorial Board

Govind Agrawal,
University of Rochester, USA
Associate Editors
Byoungho Lee, Seoul National University, S. Korea
Geert Morthier, Ghent University, Belgium
Malin Premaratne, Monash University, Australia
Deepa Venkitesh, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India


Editorial and Production E-mail Phone
Rebecca Robinson, Editorial and Special Projects Coordinator aopmss@osa.org 202-416-1914
Electronic submission questions aopmss@osa.org
Article proposals aopmss@osa.org
Daniel Franzen, Senior Managing Editor dfranz@osa.org 202-416-1943

General Information
Online journal technical support elec@osa.org
Copyright permission requests copyright@osa.org
Elizabeth Nolan, Chief Publishing Officer
M. Scott Dineen, Senior Director, Publishing, Production & Technology
Alison Taylor, Executive Editor
Christopher Videll, Director, Production & Technology
Daphne Greenwood, Senior Director of Marketing & Sales, Publishing
Select as filters

    Select Topics Cancel
    © Copyright 2019 | The Optical Society. All Rights Reserved